Macbeth: Modernised

Well, for one of my school projects, I had to modernise a scene from a Shakespeare play. So, I started that today. I’m not completed yet, but I will be soon. Hope you like it. Comments and suggestions are appreciated.

A hail of AGM-144 Hellfire missiles rained down upon the Dunsinane Fort, where Macbeth was trying to eat strawberry ice cream, unaware of the danger. The outer walls of the fort shook and crumbled beneath the power of the explosions of shrapnel and heat. Macbeth’s soldiers rush to their defensive positions in time to be bombed by F22 Raptor jets. Multiple guard positions were obliterated in seconds. Weapon caches and oil supplies detonated, causing dust and fire to be distributed everywhere. But Malcolm and Macduff weren’t done yet – The assault on Macbeth’s base had just begun.

M1A2 Abrams tanks rolled into the silent atmosphere of Birnam Wood. Infantry marched into the forest and immediately started setting up artillery guns and missile pods. UAVs circled the skies above the forest, scanning the area for enemy resistance and structures. AH-64 Apache attack helicopters landed in the clearings of the forest, where the camp was.

Macbeth had no idea what happened to his fort, or where the attacking army was. But he was not stupid. Macbeth got his soldiers to scout the forests, the hills, and the plains surrounding the Dunsinane Fort. He ordered reconnaissance aerial units to be dispatched to survey the damage caused to the base.

Well, that’s all I have right now. I might post the entire thing soon. My Macbeth scene revision here was based on the original Macbeth scene, where the Malcolm’s army invades and attacks Dunsinane Castle. Please don’t redistribute my work without my permission – It’s only my school project stuff. And anyone in my class viewing this – You’re probably going to copy my theme D:<

Well thanks for reading! =]

    • Xenophralc
    • October 15th, 2009

    NOT bad…its pretty good. I like how u didnt fully change it and screw it, and its not an attempt to try and be funny (which would screw it), its only mildly humorous.

    • I wasn’t intending to make it humorous, the beginning bit with the ice cream is only there because I couldn’t think of anything else to write. Besides, it makes the reader kinda think ‘lolwth’ and makes them keep want to read =] Glad you liked it.

    • Judy
    • October 15th, 2009

    Now all it needs to really give it a modern twist is…. DIALOGUE!!11!one!1
    You know.. like the quotes they use in the miltary (or CoD).

    • Skryfti
    • October 15th, 2009

    Ty Zen, I finally know how 2 do most of my tasks. XD

  1. That’s AWESOME! Lol, so much Shakespear is so violent, hey mention macbeth’s evil wife and daughter! And how they went crazy and how Macbeth suicided, wait, did he even suicide?

  2. Wait, it’s only one scene, sorrry!

    • Nocky
    • December 21st, 2009

    awww in ur OC u dont get marked down for using military terms, weapon names, and violence T.T

    i got B- for a war novel xD

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

